Header left corner The Bach Sinfonia logo Swirl image
Anhalt-Cöthen, 1717–1723

Bach in the Middle:
The Cöthen Concertos


Bach left Weimar in 1717 for the Cöthen where he was to be employed by Prince Leopold, an avid supporter of the arts. The city of Cöthen had no significant choral tradition and no organ of any stature, so instrumental music flourished during this time under Leopold’s patronage and the superior orchestra and soloists at the Court of Anhalt-Cöthen. It was here Kapellmeister Bach created some of the greatest instrumental solo and ensemble work of the late Baroque period including the Brandenburg concerti, many of the solo concertos and works for instruments unaccompanied. Internationally renowned violinist Ingrid Matthews returns to join Sinfonia as soloist in a diverse program of Bach’s greatest instrumental works.

Concert Venue:
Cultural Arts Center

Johann Sebastian Bach
Violin Concerto in A Minor, BWV 1041
Partita in D Minor for Violin Unaccompanied, BWV 1004
Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067
“Brandenburg” Concerto No. 5 in D Major, BWV 1050

Ingrid Matthews Olson, violin
Kathie Stewart, flute
Dongsok Shin, harpsichord

“She [Ingrid Matthews Olson] danced and throbbed with vitality, allowing the music to play her as much as she played it; her extraordinary virtuosity was dazzling in the breadth of movement and emotion she conveyed.”